Followers

Follow by Email

Monday, May 12, 2008

What Does It Mean To Die to Yourself?

Then, calling the crowd to join his disciples, he (Jesus) said, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it. And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? Is anything worth more than your soul? Mark 8:34-37


Over ten years ago, I asked my husband to pray over me that I would die to myself. What a process that has been but what a glorious journey. At the time I saw too much of “me” in everything I did, and I wanted to see Christ in all I did. I have come a long way, but there is still much dying to self to do.

If you are feeling stressed or overwhelmed, could it be that you are trying to hold onto your old life while you put on your new life in Christ? That will never work. I can tell you from personal experience.

Let me give you a visual: I once heard a couple interviewed on Oprah. It was a second marriage for the husband and wife, and the wife raved about what a wonderful husband he was and that she never knew a man like this existed. Oprah asked the husband what he did to make his wife so happy and he said, “I died to myself.” Oprah did not understand what he meant, and questioned something to the effect of: You died? How could you die, you’re still here? The husband tried to explain, but Oprah didn’t get it. But I immediately knew what he was talking about. This was a Christian couple, who understood Mark 8:34-37. This is such an important concept that it is repeated in Matthew 16:24-26 (which Beth Moore spoke on at the Colorado Springs Living Proof) and Luke 9:23-25.


I would love to hear your comments on what it means to you to die to yourself and live in Christ.

Wednesday, May 7, 2008

Free Book Opportunity

FREE BOOK OPPORTUNITY!
PARTICIPATE IN A LIVE INTERVIEW WITH JANET!
May 8, 2008. 12:00 noon CST, 1 p.m. ET, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT

Host, Amy Hagberg, will chat with Janet about her faith and her new book Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter.
The 60-minute show airs live. Callers are welcome to join the conversation and ask questions during the show by calling (347) 324-5425. You can also listen online by visiting http://www.blogtalkradio.com/godunplugged and participate in the chat room and ask questions. To join the conversation via chat, however, you'll need to register (it's free and easy).
Can't join us live, DON'T WORRY! You can listen any time by visiting the archives. Read more about the host and the discussion on Amy's website, www.HesReal.com.

There will be a drawing during the interview on May 8th for a free copy of Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter, so be sure to call or log in and participate. Janet would love to chat with you.